If I can spend, I can give.

Standard

This past weekend, Americans spent. We spent a lot. Did you get any good deals?

I’m all about a bargain, but I didn’t end up out shopping, but I have begun my Christmas shopping. Want to hear a confession? I may have succumbed to “one for you, one for me” a time or two…

Today has been decreed Giving Tuesday, a chance for that “one for you, one for me” to turn into a whole lot more as we look at how our money can be used as a tool for blessing people across the globe. I’m partnering with Compassion International, who has an exciting goal for today:

“On December 2nd, we want to help fund and launch a brand new Child Survival Program in Gujarat, India – ALL IN ONE DAY, #GivingTuesday!

What is Giving Tuesday?

#givingtuesday is a global day dedicated to giving back.

It falls on the Tuesday after Black Friday and was created in response to the consumerism that happens after Thanksgiving.

Basanti ARI with daughter In Gujarat, India, motherhood and childhood look different from here in The States.

  • The average woman is just 18 when she becomes a mother here.
  • She has four children.
  • More than 70 percent of the mothers here give birth in their homes.
  • Their children are malnourished.
  • And they are surrounded by illiteracy, alcoholism, child labor, child marriage and abuse.

Beyond that, one in three infant deaths worldwide occur in India, and every year, over 2 million children under the age of five die in India.

Baby boy Melbin Thomas plays with a blue toy in a close-up portr

But Compassion’s Child Survival Program will offer Hope. The center will:

  • prepare moms with training to help care for their babies
  • help mothers learn to read and write
  • give children a safe place to learn and grow
  • ensure lifesaving medical care for babies and moms
  • proclaim the hope of God to families living in poverty

IN C44 CSP Activity Report - October 2014In light of how easy it is to prevent the deaths of these precious children, somehow giving of my resources and my time to spread the word isn’t even a question. Today, I gave toward this program. I couldn’t give what sounds like a lot, but I offered something to help Compassion reach its goal of $25,000 today to reach the mothers of Gujarat, India, with medical assistance to protect their children, but also reach them with the love of Jesus, offering eternal salvation for an entire community.

I don’t know about you, but if I’m given the ability to spend my Sundays like this…

10014547_10152562331304021_292084901903046196_n

Caramel Brulée Latte…Mmmm….

…I can afford to give something so that a mother has the ability to raise her child protected from preventable diseases and malnutrition.

Take a moment to join us as we raise up a Compassion Center today.

GivingTuesday_shareimg_2As a quick side note, I’m also advocating for a three-year-old girl in India! Dibyashree is not from Gujarat, but she is precious and she is still vulnerable. I’m in love with her sweet face. If you’re interested in sponsoring her, please be in touch before December 12!

-3What can you give today?

xo, Breanne

Check out some other Compassion Bloggers writing about #GivingTuesday:

Me and Mr. Jones: For God Loves a Cheerful Giver

A Story by Me: Will You Take the First Step?

Holly Barrett: #GivingTuesday

One response »

  1. Pingback: Will You Take the First Step? | A Journey to a Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

