11/29 On Having Enough

Standard

Preparing for the holiday season as I also continue learning about ministries like Compassion and Amazina, the sponsorship organization run by Katie Davis, whom I mentioned a day or so ago, has opened my eyes to the fact that I have enough. Beyond enough, I have excess. And I’m excessively blessed.

Today is America’s unofficial holiday Black Friday, when the country is focused on shopping, whether focused on the deals they’ll find as they venture into the throng or the throngs they’ll avoid by staying home. I’ll be working, so not out looking for deals but not avoiding crowds either! I was offered the opportunity to go out before or after my shift at work, but I can’t bring myself to venture into the shops, even for good deals. I love getting the most for my money, but when I chaos is more than I can handle. And there’s nothing I need. I want good deals. I want a new sweater. I want a pair of $20 boots, but need?

(And this is in no way a guilt trip for those who enjoy the day! Go at it. I used to loooove the energy of the shops on this day. Maybe I’m just old. I think I’m going to put on my pjs and watch a movie after work 🙂 )

I am so grateful for the fact that anything I need is at my fingertips, and really, anything I want can be, if I’m willing to make it happen. But I’m also grateful that the Lord has been teaching me the difference between the two. I’m grateful for my parents who have always been good about teaching me the same. I’m grateful that enough is enough, in the best, most blessed way possible.

I think of Anne Shirley, standing on the bridge with Gilbert, placing her hand in his and saying, “I don’t want diamond sunbursts, or marble halls. I just want you.” Anne knew that true Joy stemmed not from things, but from relationship.

kiss

An aunt recommended a book called 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. I am excited to get my hands on a copy and read it, though I’m slightly nervous about the conviction it will bring. The best lessons are rarely comfortable, but I’m learning that simplicity is freeing. And enough is enough. (But I’m going to have a hard time if I start feeling like I ought to pare down my book collection.)

xo, Breanne

Do leave a comment if you’ve read any of Hatmaker’s books or if you know of any other books on the subject that you think I may enjoy!

Leave a Reply

