11/17 Silence

Standard

Today, I finished teaching my children’s church class, greeted the second-hour kids as they arrived, relayed a few notes to the second hour teacher, then greeted a few people on my way to finding my seat in the sanctuary. As the service began, a sudden headache began throbbing in my neck and creeping around to my eyes, growing in intensity. I lasted through the first song set, but following announcements, I slipped out with an apologetic smile to the greeters who were closing the doors in the back of the sanctuary.

Once home, I exchanged my dress and boots for sweatpants and a t-shirt before curling up on the sofa with a fluffy blanket. Time home alone is rare indeed, but a still house sometimes comforts me. Occasionally, I wonder whether to classify myself as introverted or extroverted, but in silent moments when I savor a few free moments downtime, I lean toward introversion, drawing energy from the quiet. With an ice pack on my neck, I closed my eyes, nestling into the cushions. Sweet, sweet silence, then eventually blessed, healing sleep.

My headaches aren’t always so easy to fight off, but peaceful silence helped, as did “napping in Heavenly peace,” a Sabbath gift from my loving Heavenly Father.

xo, Breanne

Leave a Reply

